I Don’t Know You Anymore

One problem I currently have with this Indian Test side is that I have no emotional connection to it anymore. With Dravid and Laxman gone, only Tendulkar remains — and you can’t help having all sorts of emotions and feelings about Tendulkar. But as I watched the New Zealand game, I kept thinking: does it really matter to me what happens to Kohli, or Rahane, or Raina, or Umesh Yadav?

I may butcher the following, so forgive me, but: There’s a fragment from Roland Barthes where he imagines a ship that has each individual part replaced until none of the original parts remain. Is it the same ship? India is India, and it’s been my team since I started following the game. But is it the same team without its individual parts? Of course, it’s possible that over time, I will learn to love Kohli just as I grew to love Dravid or Laxman — but it’s also possible that Dravid and Laxman and Ganguly arrived at an impressionable time of my life, when I was searching for heroes. If that stage is past, can I care anymore?

This isn’t to say I don’t enjoy watching Kohli plunder the opposition, or Yadav topping 140. But doesn’t it all seem somehow more empty these days? I guess this is what Devanshu meant when he introduced us to his team — I guess Sehwag, Zaheer and Tendulkar will have to do for now.

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Know You Anymore

  1. I know exactly what you’re talking about.

    Another (similar) thing is that when Sehwag, Zaheer and Tendulkar are gone, the entire team will be younger than me.

  2. Nash says:

    I know exactly what you are talking about. It is very difficult for me to embrace anyone as a sporting hero after Dravid. This is because of my my age at his debut (11), the aesthetic beauty I found in his batting (which had me hooked from the start), and the next 16 years in which he proved he was one of best to have ever played, justifying my faith through the tests that presented themselves. I think it is near impossible for a person to have a sporting hero who is younger than him/herself, because frankly speaking that element of wanting to be that person, that vicarious pleasure from someone else’s achievements, is no longer a possibility. I would be very surprised if I found myself really gutted, or over the moon in joy because of anything in Indian Cricket any more. Very happy? sure.. Very pissed off? sure… but the kind of emotion and anticipation I felt when I knew that Dravid might bat in a test match the next day?… I would be surprised. I think this is just a function of age.

    The emotional connect remains simply because I am Indian and I love cricket. I am very interested in what happens with Kohli n Pujara n Rahane n Yadav. I can look at these players more objectively and feel much less when they succeed or fail. It is just not the same though.

Leave a Reply

