What Can India Hope To Achieve Over The Next Year?

Am I wrong, or is the coming year of the Indian cricket the most low-stakes season ever?A tour of Sri Lanka, another one for the World T20 Cup, then some home series against Pakistan, England and New Zealand. I know that some await the English to inflict some amount of revenge, but that doesn’t really make it exciting for me (winning four Tests in England — now, that, I’d pay to see).

2011-2012 was presented as the Cricket Year to End All Years. You had the World Cup, the tours of South Africa and England and Australia, Tendulkar’s 100 100s, and the possible retirement of some of the greatest batsmen the game has ever seen. But was it good for you? Will you be telling the young ‘uns years from now about the year that was? Yes, I remember where I was when Dhoni hit that winning six, but I also know where I was when India were beaten during almost every session of eight consecutive overseas Tests. 2011 is going to be like some awful historical trauma: we will self-edit, re-imagine, selectively forget, and pick out only the uplifting parts.

If I were drafting the narrative, I’d say that this season is Year Zero: The Beginning of the Future. Tendulkar and Laxman are not long for this world by now, so we have the chance to watch some new legends being born. We’ve had some false starts over the past decade — Sharma, Raina, Ishant, Sreesanth — but now, there’s an urgency (anxiety?) attached to the question. Who will fill our television screens for the next decade?

All right, then. Let’s begin: Act 1, characters enter.

4 thoughts on “What Can India Hope To Achieve Over The Next Year?

  1. kny789 says:

    I think Act 1 may actually be the prelude before the characters enter, not just talking about the batting retirements due, but the question of which spinners / bowling attacks kicks things off… I have a feeling we may still pick a few stop-gap replacements before giving the new blood a chance, especially in the bowling dept

  2. cricketbirds says:

    It certainly should look to find few quality fast bowling all rounders who can perform equally good in test and one day cricket. The next target for Indian cricket should be to focus on its tour to south africa.

  3. cricketnns says:

    I think Act I has already been fulfilled, the players for the future have already been seen. Now we need to see them perform….

  4. test website says:

    I wish to express some thanks to you just for bailing me out of this particular condition. Just after browsing through the the net and finding strategies that were not helpful, I believed my life was over. Living without the presence of strategies to the problems you have resolved all through your entire short article is a critical case, and the ones which may have negatively damaged my entire career if I hadn’t noticed your web page. Your actual talents and kindness in maneuvering all areas was crucial. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I had not encountered such a solution like this. I can at this moment relish my future. Thank you very much for the high quality and effective guide. I will not be reluctant to endorse your web sites to any individual who needs care on this area.

Leave a Reply

