Looking For A Blog/Graphic Designer

I’d like to upgrade my blog — buy the domain, spruce up the design, make things look nice, etc. — but I’m not happy with the WordPress Premium options. If any of my (admittedly few) readers know a good blog/graphic designer, send me a note. (And if you happen to be in the happy middle part of the Venn and areboth a cricket fan and a web designer, shoot me an email at duckingbeamers[at]gmail[dot]com.) I don’t have much money to offer, but let’s chat.

5 thoughts on “Looking For A Blog/Graphic Designer

  1. Krishna Kumar says:

    DB, have you checked out Thesis (http://diythemes.com/). If you are trying to set up a domain, I would highly recommend it as the first step. Do the simple configuration and then hire a graphics designer. I am using Thesis for another blog and I have been very happy with the results, especially the SEO stuff.

    If you have more than a grand to spend, I could recommend a couple of people.

  2. I’ve self-hosted WordPress for years and years now on four relatively high traffic web sites, and I still went with WordPress.com for DBP. Here’s why:
    * Interdependencies of WordPress plug-ins and maintaining upgrades
    * One day, you will get a serious spike in traffic, and you will realize that your server+wordpress can’t handle it. And there’s no way to test this in advance. WordPress.com almost never goes down because of the load.
    * The ways to mitigate the high-load scenario requires even more plug-ins, maintenance and dependencies.
    * Even though self-hosted WordPress uses the same spam filter (akismet), I see a lot more comment spam.

    Of course, you give up design, control and “monetization”. But it allows you to just focus on writing, not tweaking.

    If you do choose to self-host, be aware of the following:
    * Once you have a customized theme and a host of plugins, you are down a path of no return. It’s very hard to return to wordpress.com or any other hosted blogging platform.
    * Make sure you have plug-ins that cache your pages. You will thank me the day your site is linked to on Cricinfo, or something.
    * Don’t overdo the plugins.

    I can help you if you have questions along the way, so let me know.

    • duckingbeamers says:

      Thanks for the advice, guys. Devnashu, I think I may very well follow your path. Need to find a good theme, so thanks for the link, Krishna.

  3. test website says:

    I and also my buddies were found to be checking out the excellent procedures on your web blog then immediately I had a horrible suspicion I never thanked the blog owner for those techniques. My boys ended up as a result stimulated to study all of them and have now sincerely been having fun with these things. I appreciate you for simply being considerably accommodating and also for selecting these kinds of important useful guides millions of individuals are really wanting to be informed on. Our sincere apologies for not expressing appreciation to earlier.

  4. You created some very good points there. I did a search on the topic and found a lot of people will agree together with your blog.

Leave a Reply

