Star Sports Unveils Its World Cup Package

I’m happy the World Cup will be broadcast by Star Sports and not Neo Cricket. The difference is simple: no Arun Lal. I like Harsha Bhogle; the guy seems to know his stuff, even though he occasionally comes off as a nerd too awed in the midst of the stars around him.

The ads so far are a bit baffling. During the warm-up match against Australia, most of the ads had to do with the World Cup, which I presume most consumers in India know about. There’s also way too much Sachin fanfare — one ad showing him playing with kids (it’s cute for the first 10 times, I admit) and another with him talking about his first time watching the World Cup.

But I’ll say this: Star Sports didn’t cut off commentators reading the score at the end of the over, and it didn’t overload on the ads (esp. not during play). I’m still not sure about the opening cermony though — Bryan Adams? Is everything about this Cup supposed to replicate 1996?

3 thoughts on “Star Sports Unveils Its World Cup Package

  1. I have to agree with you completely. I have, for a long time now, been of the belief that ESPN – Star are a lot better at broadcasting sports than the Nimbus and Ten Sports.

    Not only do they have better commentators on their payroll, they somehow know where the camera should be focusing on what occasion.

  2. ESPNStar’s coverage of cricket is awesome. I still remember their coverage of world cup ’99. The picture qualify is truly amazing. I am looking forward to watching them on my tv set.

  3. I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

Leave a Reply

