“Gimme Hope Jo’Anna” And The IPL Closing Ceremony

Over at The Guardian, Dileep Premachandran has produced 20 notes on the IPL tournament. A good read, but I had some (not 20) questions:

1. Like, what does this mean?

8 Never put a mediocre clown like Shiamak Davar on stage with Eddie Grant. Even less so when he clearly had no idea what Gimme Hope, Jo’anna meant to anyone who had ever resisted apartheid.

The IPL final took place during a holiday weekend in America, so I couldn’t catch the IPL closing ceremony, which I heard was a complete waste of time, full of endless speeches and ridiculous dances. But what did Shiamak Davar do wrong here? Also, I had no idea what “Gimme Hope, Jo’anna” was about. Huh. I think I always hear that song at Indian weddings and parties (the Goan ones, I mean).

2. Who is Mike Young, and why is a former baseball player involved in Australian cricket?

13 A fielding coach is a great idea. It is the most neglected skill. The Chargers had Mike Young, the baseball guru who worked with Australia’s best cricketers. They were outstanding in the field, and won the tournament.

I knew the Australian team employed a fielding coach with a baseball background, but I didn’t really know who it was. And, really, I don’t watch much M.L.B. baseball, but when I do, I’m always amazed at what the players do on the field with their dives.

This is from an alumni newsletter:

“Living in Crabtree Hall I heard crickets,” Young quips. “But when I went to Australia I didn’t know the sport existed.” Now Young appreciates the opportunity to help people in another sport. “What I teach in cricket is exactly the same as in baseball as far as fielding and throwing are concerned,” explains Young. “The ball is about the same size but harder. The hand-eye ball skills are alike. It’s been a real positive sport to be involved with and it is very popular. The players are tremendous athletes,” says Young.

This is from Cricinfo‘s Peter English:

When Young joins the squad he likes to watch; sometimes he’ll observe for two days before chipping in with a mix of cricket and baseball terms. “Fielding sets the team tempo and is the pulse of the team,” he says. “Everything else, batting and bowling, is done one-on-one, so fielding tells you where you’re headed.”

One of his initiatives is a “runs-saved card” and he is determined to challenge thought processes as well as to restructure throwing techniques and ways to attack the ball.

Leave a Reply

