Johan Botha Cleared, Kind Of

I don’t know what to make of this. Cricinfo reports Botha’s doosra has been deemed illegal, but his other deliveries — the arm ball and off-spinner — are within the 15 degree limit. That makes enough sense initially, until this part:

Though happy to abide by the decision preventing him from bowling the doosra, Botha said he was still unsure as to the circumstances in which he was reported in the first place. He insisted he did not bowl the doosra in the Port Elizabeth match against Australia, and only once in the previous ODI in Cape Town.

“It has worked out like this now, so I have to carry on with what I have,” he said. “That’s fine. I haven’t really used it much in the last year. I didn’t bowl it at all in the game they called me.”

So what’s an umpire to do? If a ball somehow turns the other way, does he have to check with Botha, or perhaps the wicketkeeper, to confirm if it was in fact the doosra?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: