Cricket Books

The Cricket Watcher Journal lists the cricket books on his shelf right now. It’s a good selection, featuring the classic Beyond A Boundary, which partially inspired my own modest effort here. There’s also a Sunil Gavaskar autobiography and something about Sachin Tendulkar. 

I’m not much of a cricket reader (other than what’s on the blogs and Cricinfo, of course), but I do have two books on my crick-lit wish-list: first, Joseph O’Neill’s Netherland, a post-9/11 novel and a history of cricket (and immigration) in New York City. It received extraordinarily good reviews when it came out in the States and I’ve wanted a copy ever since. 

Then, there’s Wodehouse at the Wicket, a collection of P.G. Wodehouse stories about cricket. It’s ridiculously over-priced, which is why I haven’t bought it yet, but I secretly bet it’s worth it. You can find at least one Wodehouse cricket story, “Now, Talking About Cricket,” online for free.

5 thoughts on “Cricket Books

  1. […] Read more:  Cricket Books « Ducking Beamers: A Cricket Blog […]

  2. I’m part-way through Netherland at the moment, but it is on hold while I read through some old books from the 50s that I have. And my copy of Wisden will be arriving any day now!

  3. […] a comment » Since I just wrote about cricket books, I thought I’d write about this other link between literature and […]

  4. Soulberry says:

    Wodehouse cricket stories are fun. I have the series with me. Excellent!

    Somehow I am unable to find Netherland on the shelves…

    Thanks for the mention.

  5. […] I mentioned O’Neill’s book — a wonderful examination of immigrant identity in post 9/11 New York City — in an earlier post. […]

Leave a Reply

