To Be An Australian Fan Again

Apologies for the light posting; I was away in India for the Christmas holidays, and my parents’ Internet connection leaves something to be desired. While I was there, however, it was 24/7 cricket for me, what with 3 channels dedicated exclusively to the game (highlights, highlights, highlights!). While the India-England thing fizzled, the South Africa-Australia series lived up to its promise, and that’s what I want to talk about now.

If I were an Australian fan, I’d be absolutely delighted with the 2-1 result. I’m not, especially after Ricky Ponting claimed yet another catch that he shouldn’t have (one recalls the Ganguly incident, from another more infamous Sydney Test). But, really, now is the time for an Australian to watch his team again. I’ve always said that it’s better to be a Pakistani or Indian fan, because the inconsistency — maddening though it may be — also yields so much more pleasure and delight. Imagine, just for a second, that the Indian team won all the time, like the Australians did. This might satsify the most hysterical fans, but it honestly shouldn’t: where’s the fun in that? Where’s the unexpected brilliance?

One thought on “To Be An Australian Fan Again

  1. This test series against South Africa was up there at the top of my list along with the ’05 Ashes in my books. Every match could’ve gone either way and boasted stunning fightbacks. Right until the end of this last Test it looked like SA might get out of it with a draw and hold the series 2-0 with Ntini’s gutsy innings. To then see Smith come out and bat for the last few overs was simply heroic. As an Aussie I was obviously going for my side but have deep respect for Smith as a captain and leader. He would have been in agonising pain but still chose to fight until the very end. SA deserve the series and I congratulate them for their first series win in Aus.

Leave a Reply

